Thirty years later

On December 3, 1994, I was in Berkeley attending the 30-year reunion of the Free Speech Movement. I went for myself and, though it was an emotional roller coaster from start to finish, I had no regrets about having gone. I reconnected with friends who had moved my life, was cured of torches carried far too long, spoke at one meeting as one of the interviewees in Berkeley in the Sixties, was interviewed as part of a follow-up study on Berkeley activists (have the video, hope to post it here sometime) and came away at least as satisfied as those who have attended high school and college class reunions. A high point for me was the opportunity to tell a lecture hall full of then-current Berkeley students, in answer to a question, that I was not at all sorry and would do it all again, certainly the FSM part, in a heartbeat.

Being then a stringer for the Garberville Redwood Record, now defunct, I also covered it for the paper, since refugees from Berkeley constituted some portion of the Record readership. The article may or may not have contributed to the subsequent demise of the Record, whose corporate bosses in Fortuna were growing increasingly unhappy with the number of environmental and political stories being reported by myself and colleagues and had reprimanded us for being overly investigative. Small paper, lives on ads, the publisher rules.

________________________________________________________

FSM reunion 1 edO

FSM reunion 2 edFSM reunion 3 ed

One comment

  1. Hi Jentry
    I enjoyed this retrospective on a retrospective. Reminded me of the 40th anniversary of the Columbia strike my wife and I attended in 2008. I wrote a series of blogs about it which start here: http://www.stevenmarx.net/2008/05/new-york-trip/. The introduction is here http://www.stevenmarx.net/2008/04/columbia-1968-and-the-world/. I’ve had to password protect them because her political opponents use information in them to try (unsuccessfully) to discredit her. Password is “snoopy.”

Leave a Reply

